Saying goodbye

DSC_0532
Dolbadarn from a different angle

Today I left Llanberis for Dublin on my way back to San Antonio. I’m homesick. Except that I kept dropping things and left my debit/credit card in the reader (I got it back), the trip was uneventful.

The Holiday Inn Express in Dublin has nice rooms, but no outlet in the bathroom and it’s a fairly new hotel. It is near a large park. So, I took a walk. It also has free shuttle to the airport.

I have a few things I’ve learned this trip:

* Never schedule a vacation over a holiday.

* I simply cannot pronounce Rhiw unless I here someone say it and I repeat it 10 times. And I still make people laugh. (I do a decent job at the ll and ch sounds — at least I don’t get laughed at. Pwllheli was a bit difficult.)

* I feel quite competent handling one-track roads, roundabouts and understanding the traffic signage.

* It was worth the extra cost getting a car with automatic rather than standard driving.

* 4-lane highways are 70 unless other wise designated. There are no signs to tell you this.

* Lighted streets are 40 unless designated as 30, or 20 for a school zone. You get one sign Where you are to adjust your speed and that’s it, unless there’s a lighted warning of the speed camera reminding you to slow down. (On the pavement is huge 2 line letters “ARAF SLOW” just before the speed sign.)

* Two-lane/country roads are 60. Except where designated slower. This is also not posted.

* For traffic speed violations you may be stopped by a patrol, but more than likely it will show up on your rental charges without you knowing is was caught on camera.

* Cats eyes are the reflectors in the road dividing line.

* Clamping is locking the wheels for a parking violation (parking where parking isn’t allowed).

There’s more, but they slip my mind.

 

Thanks for the visit. Comments are always read, appreciated and responded to..

