Chocolate and one-track roads

dsc_0420.jpg
Gourmet chocolate

First stop after leaving Bryn Moel — Chocolate! And a little lunch in Pentrefoelas at the Chocolate Shop and Tea Room. While I had a simple toasted ham tomato and onion sandwich, I explored my travel options for the day. SI had two options and decided to take the one to Beddgelert.

I promptly got lost. The road was well paved, a track and a half and generally in the right direction. So I decided to have an adventure. The scenery was incredible and included traveling over national trust land.

DSC_0430
The road to the quaint, coastal towns was a generous two-lane.

In Llan Festiniog and I found the road to the Llyn Pennisula, and took it. And so was everyone else. Passing through some of the quaint, popular seaside villages of Porthmadog, Criccieth, Pwllheli and Abersoch, there was nowhere to park. I had to dodge cars and people. In Cricceth, a castle ruin overlooks the village from a large hill that juts out in the sea. Awesome sight. No photo, just a memory.

dsc_0442.jpg
Narrow, no-shoulder road after Abersoch.

After Abersoch, the roads squeezed to one track most of the way to Rhiw. I lost my way and was heading to the ocean. Got turned around then stopped at a busy pub for a nature break and directions.  I got a half pint of cider and met a delightful young woman who helped me out.

Her English was a bit hard to follow because of her heavy Welsh accent and she told me her first language is Welsh. She’s also fluent in French and learning Spanish.

I made it to Rhiw and knowing my time was short moved to the overlook to Ynys Enlli (Bardsey Island) on more one track roads.

dsc_0445.jpg
Ynys Enlli is the first site of the early Celtic Christian church. St. Cadfan established Wales first religious house there in the 6th century.

After Ynys Enlli, it was getting to Llanberis so I could check in to  y Gwynedd and have dinner. The room is tiny but comfortable. I went into the pub to have dinner and a man had his friendly dog at the bar and another man in a wheel chair had his non-service dog with him. I had an interesting talk with A pool player. He had been to Austin and related a tale of him being singled out by a drunk at 3 a.m. on 6th Street as an Arab and was told to go home. Said he went up the the guy, introduced himself as Ed Porter from London. The guy backed off after hearing the strong accent. We discussed Mexican food, barbecue, travelling alone (he was with his girlfriend), climbing Snowdon, why I didn’t choose to visit London and blogging.  All this talk started from him wanting to move the chair at my table to make a pool shot. With little juice in my iPad and my cider gone, I left for bed.

dsc_0451.jpg
Starting back to Llanberis
Thanks for the visit. Comments are always read, appreciated and responded to..

