Tags

, ,

This getting a house ready to sell just so I can possible get more out of the sale better be worth it. I’ve been bleeding money — I really need a transfusion, quick.

Meanwhile the grand public transportation experiment is over. I spent a month going to a public park and ride (45 minutes from home) then riding the express bus to downtown San Antonio (another 45 minutes depending on which express bus I managed to catch).

By car, getting to work takes me an hour. By car, then bus, it was almost two hours. My 10-hour days turned into 12, so I’m back to driving all the way in.

I do miss the walk. Instead of catching the trolley or bus that would take me closer to the office, I decided to walk the Riverwalk. I also got to enjoy a part of town I had not been familiar with.

I got off the bus at Delarosa and Main. Here was Main Plaza, San Fernando Cathedral and the red sandstone courthouse.

The Bexar County Courthouse was built in 1897 and is the largest and oldest continuously operated courthouse in Texas. It is comprised of native Texan granite and red sandstone, roofed in  green and red tiles.

Across the street from the Main Plaza is the Bexar County Courthouse built in 1897 and is the largest and oldest continuously operated courthouse in Texas. It is comprised of native Texan granite and red sandstone, roofed in green and red tiles.

 On Main Plaza is San Fernando Cathedral, founded in 1731, and is the oldest, continuously functioning religious community in Texas.

On the Main Plaza is the San Fernando Cathedral, founded in 1731, and is the oldest, continuously functioning religious community in Texas.

The more interesting path to the Riverwalk was on the Main Plaza, opposite the cathedral, where steps led down to a curved, short path that lead to a bridge taking you over a bridge to the opposite side or to steps to the same side. Poetry and sayings are carved into the stone blocks.

The more interesting path to the Riverwalk was opposite the cathedral where steps led down to a curvy path. Poetry and sayings are carved into the stone blocks.

Old tools and artifacts are imbedded on the concrete path.

Old tools and artifacts are imbedded on the concrete path.

And are also imbedded by the stone blocks.

Imbedded by the stone blocks are more artifacts.

Next, the Riverwalk from Delarosa St. to Houston St.

